How Pinterest Made Me a Better Shopper (And How You Can Be One Too)

Say what you will about Pinterest (especially if you’ve witnessed any part of R29’s super overbearing integration into the community {GLECH! we get it}), it is a great tool for self-discovery.  It has taught me more about the colors, brands, and styles that inspire me than any other 2D or 3D experience.  Is that crazy?  Yes.  Is it harmful?  Definitely not.  In fact, the Real-Life Benefits cancelled out the waste of time inherent with my Web Addiction.

After spending countless hours sifting through and choosing from the unending multitude of Pins and online content at my disposal, I know what I like, and I like what I Pin.  So now, at 26 I have finally honed my aesthetic, which I’ve never had a firm grasp of.  Turns out it’s for the best: my Pinterest Addiction has made me a better shopper!  Gone are the days of impulse buys and shopping sprees.  If it’s not on one of my Pin Boards, I won’t buy it.  Not because I’m stuck in a minimalist rut…I simply don’t want it as much as I want the things in my Pin collection.  I can immediately tell if a piece of furniture/clothing, etc., will have lasting value for me.  Because if it doesn’t fit within my aesthetic, it won’t get me any closer to achieving The Ideal of Self-Presentation, and I leave it where it is.  It’s AWESOME!  And it’s consistent!

I have been able to detach myself from possessions that are no longer doing me any favors.  Like…pretty much everything I own.  I have come this close to giving everything away except my computer, jeans, and button up shirts, and starting again from scratch (Just get it away!).  That’s not within my budget, so I’m approaching my closet/possessions as a long-term project instead.  I will chip away at it day by day, year by year…until I’ve got a collection of things I 100% love, devoid of anything I keep up 50% or even 89% enthusiasm for.  That’s everyone’s goal…but not everyone has Pinterest.  Or self-discipline.  Suckers.

Just kidding.  You’re not a sucker.  Because here’s how you can make Pinterest work the same way for you:

1. Pay your friend (me) $5 to invite you into the community.  Just kidding!  That’s illegal.  Nope.  I’m still kidding.  It’s not illegal.  Just frowned upon.  Don’t do that.

2. Once you’ve got your account set up, make some Pin Boards of things you like: e.g., Food, Cats, the Color Blue

3. Enter “Cats” in the search bar. Spend 45 minutes Repinning pictures of Cats

4. Find out you like more than just Cats, Blue, and Food.  Make some new Pin Boards. Really specific ones.  For example, Green Eyed Bratz Dollz

4. Look around at other Pin Boards and realize everyone else is more organized and interesting than you are (“Jodie has 8,000 Pins on a Board called Air Plants! I bet she’s one of those feminists that doesn’t even know what Bratz Dolls are cos: Gender Blind Sexism! I am not hip!”). Emulate these people. Become more interesting.

5. Now that you’re more interesting, delete some of your older, less hip Pin Boards (goodbye “Food”). Send anniversary cards to your newest Pin Boards (Dearest “Mason Jar Meals”…) that say “I like you more”.

6. You are now officially addicted to Pinterest. Get overwhelmed.

6. Take a camping trip to work off your Pinterest addiction. Get overwhelmed.

7. Come back to Real Life and realize that you have a firmer grasp of what you like and what you don’t.

8. Apply this knowledge to Real Life and rid yourself of/stop buying crap you don’t like (or, if you’re broke or lazy, start referring to your Pin collection as “2nd Life”)

9. Buy me a present and/or send me a Thank You card.

10. Become a better Shopper (like chain letters, you can only become a better shopper after you do step 9)

The End

Pic Zoe Austin via Old World New Vintage

Edited by Penny & Sonja

About Penny + Sonja

Penny and Sonja is a lifestyle brand founded by Wardrobe Stylist, Ana Davidson. We specialize in handmade objects for the home and human. At Penny and Sonja, we believe good design happens when we respect the environment as much as we respect ourselves. Our goal is to create products that are as beautiful and practical as they are ethical and long-lasting.

Leave a Reply

