September Travels

I just got back from a lovely two-week trip to NYC. The leaves were changing colors and the air was crisp. You can imagine my surprise when I came home to LA and it was in the mid 80s and humid! What an unwelcome change. It made me want to run right back to NYC.

The last time I was there was in April and I have to say – I didn’t have the best time. This trip was completely different, however; it was the perfect blend of laid-back and eventful. My bestie came for the last three days so my host and I decided to take it easy and save all the sight-seeing for her arrival. Then, once she arrived we cut loose.

The Saturday she was there was one of my favorite days. It was the perfect day to be outdoors. We started off eating brunch on the patio of the Standard Grill. I had the french toast brioche with walnuts, rum sauce, and bananas with a side of bacon. Both were to die for and were equally decadent in their own way. Then we walked our food babies off on the High Line, where I snapped the above photo. Next, we wandered into the Hotel Americano for drinks on their rooftop bar, La Piscine. I had two of their very delicious, very pink Hibiscus Margaritas. I’ve never ingested something so pink.

After an afternoon of shopping, we ended our day with dinner at Pisticci. I ordered one of their specials that night – a butter-nut squash soup plus the closest thing to a grilled-cheese I could find on the menu: their roasted garlic bread with warm, broiled goat cheese on top. It was amazing. Perfect for the rainy evening that beautiful Saturday became. Then we went home and fell asleep to the warm glow of 30 Rock on the television. It doesn’t get any better than that.

Has anyone been on any fun travels this month? Don’t be shy!

About Penny + Sonja

Penny and Sonja is a lifestyle brand founded by Wardrobe Stylist, Ana Davidson. We specialize in handmade objects for the home and human. At Penny and Sonja, we believe good design happens when we respect the environment as much as we respect ourselves. Our goal is to create products that are as beautiful and practical as they are ethical and long-lasting.

Leave a Reply

